…aaaaand I cursed myself. Now I’m a day behind again…worth it.

So work was pretty much same old. New and exciting stuff included me working with Seth and talking about Ohio Wesleyan and (naturally) birding. I also got to meet Tasha today, since she’s back from field work for a little bit.

Today we made some ramps for the Steller’s Eiders, and fixed up the Spectacled Eiders’ nests. I’ve really come to find that I prefer working with the Specs; they’re a lot more friendly and inquisitive. Their personalities are really much more obvious; for example, Mrs. Pink is a little neurotic and scatterbrained. Okay, very neurotic and scatterbrained. Apparently, she laid her eggs in the skimmer one year.

After work, I went out birding with Seth, Tasha, and Hannah at the airport. It turns out that when I tried to walk there, I wasn’t even close. Meh.

I saw some good shorebirds, including Semipalmated Plovers, Western Sandpiper, and some Short-Billed Dowitchers, as well as a Merlin that harassed and in turn was harassed by a group of Arctic Terns. There were lots of the plucky little seabirds in the area, diving for fish. There was also a myriad of ducks, including American Wigeon, Green-Winged Teal, and Northern Pintail. While we were walking, we accidentally flushed a duck out of the grass (I didn’t catch what sort it was). It turned out it had been sitting on its nest, and after we took some pictures, we covered it up to keep the eggs warm until the mother came back.

Before we got back to the car, we also saw some Black-Legged Kittiwakes amongst the Mew and Glaucous-Winged Gulls. Seth mentioned that even though he had been in Seward for 3 years, he was still getting finding life birds. This pleases me greatly. He also told me a lot of places to try to nab a lot of the life birds I’m after, so all in all it was a very productive day, bird-wise.

The weather helped too; the sun actually stuck around for the whole day, and it was pretty warm (about 65 degrees, I’d say). I got some nice pictures of GUESS WHAT MORE MOUNTAINS in the morning and afternoon.

Hopefully, I’ll get tomorrow’s post done on time tomorrow so I can actually get back on track for more than a day.

Total Alaska Life Bird Count: 25 (Western Sandpiper, Short-Billed Dowitcher, Merlin, Black-Legged Kittiwake). A special note, I broke 200 on my life list!! It stands at 203.

